Time flies when you’re baking…

Time sure does fly when you’re baking- I don’t know why but I can be in the kitchen for hours cooking/baking without even realizing it! Before I go into my baking adventures, a recap on the food of the majority of yesterday:

 100_2056 100_2060 100_2059100_2071

Lunch was a Romaine/Grape salad and a turkey sandwich on whole-grain Panera Baguette. I love buying the baguettes at Panera and freezing them in portions for my lunches. The bread is my favorite thing there and it’s a lot cheaper to make it at home that way.

I ended up working yesterday from 3-7 and ate the apple on the way to work- I was still hungry all throughout work, but I didn’t have time for anything more. On my ten minute break I ate half of a Kashi trail mix bar.

When I got home from work I was still starving- I just wanted food in my belly ASAP. I threw together a chicken caesar salad with leftover grilled chicken and cooked up some green beans.

For dessert I made myself a peanut butter parfait, which is my new favorite dessert. I used non-fat cherry/vanilla yogurt.

I was in a big baking mood last night and Chris’ sister wanted me to make her some banana muffins that I’ve been making recently so that is what I did:

100_2072 In the oven baking– almost done!

100_2074 100_2075

The photograph on the right is plain banana and the left is miniature banana with mix-ins. Some have blueberries and some have chocolate chips.

Whole-Wheat Banana Muffins (makes 18 regular sized muffins)

2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
3 medium bananas
2 whole eggs
1/3 cup honey
1/2 cup skim milk
1/2 cup applesauce, unsweetened

Optional mix ins:

-walnuts

-raisins

-chocolate chips/peanut butter chocolate chips

-blueberries

-etc.

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 350 F. In a large bowl combine flour, salt, baking soda, and baking powder. In another bowl combine mashed bananas, eggs, honey, milk, and applesauce. Fold wet into dry and place in non-stick or greased muffin pan.

Nutritional Analysis:
Calories: 100

Total fat: 1 g

Sodium: 90 mg

Potassium: 105 mg

Total Carbohydrates: 21 g

Protein: 2g

After making these, I was still in the mood to bake and craving something sweet so I made Honeyed Chocolate Chip Cookies from Baking Bite’s.

100_2076 100_2078

The only changes I made to these were halving the recipe, using less salt (I always reduce the sodium and never miss it in my baked goods), and I used Smart Balance instead of butter. I ate a ton of the cookie dough which made my tummy hurt. 😦 It was good, but by the time they were done I was feeling too sick to eat one of my creations, so I just had a bite of one. Everyone else has been enjoying them though, so I’m glad they were a success.

Tuesday Morning:
100_2083

This morning I woke up not very hungry, but am so used to eating first thing I had made myself a banana and p.b. and one of may small banana muffins topped with p.b. I thought it was one of the plain muffins, but to my surprise when I cut it open I got a chocolatey surprise, yum! I heated it in the micro too and it was delicious.

100_2084

I also had a mixed bowl of Kashi cereals which was 1/4 cup of heart-to-heart, puffs, go-lean, and go-lean crunch with 3/4 cup of skim milk. By the time I got to the p.b. banana, I was feeling too full and put it in the fridge for later. When I ate it pre-gym it was nice and cold, I think I’m going to refrigerate that combo more often!

100_2085

I went to the gym for a weight-lifting class. I honestly don’t enjoy strength-training and find it a struggle to do it on my own so the classes are a bit better since I have someone making me do it, but I still find myself struggling and giving up a lot more than in cardio classes. I’m a cardio-whore, but I do like the painful sensations of worked muscles the next day after strength, plus I know I need to do it to tone and keep my bones strong and all that good stuff. Anyways, today’s teacher was a sub and kind of looked like a man… Clay Aiken to be specific. And she had really buff arms that freaked me out more than made me admire them. She was really really nice though, so I felt bad for thinking she looked like a man, but I’m not even exaggerating here.

Well, I’m a crappy blogger I realized. I am much better at reading people’s blogs than doing my own. I feel like I already spend a lot of time of my day creating healthy meals,  working out, thinking/talking about food/exercise, reading other food blogs, and all that that this just may be too much for me. I really admire people who can do it AND go to school, jobs, and everything. I think it’s amazing that they do and I really love reading other people’s, but jeeze, I don’t know if I have this much dedication. I want it to be something fun, and not feel bad if I don’t post everyday or photograph every bite that goes into my mouth. I’m not saying I’m giving up already, but I think I’m going to just see how it goes, if I feel like posting/photographing, I will. And I won’t if I don’t. But I do want to explore new foods and ideas and obviously still read the blogs I enjoy, but I guess I’m just not cut out to be a steady blogger myself.

Thanks for anyone who has stopped by to check out my site & thanks to all of you food bloggers out there that provide me with such great entertainment on a daily basis- I really appreciate/admire your dedication and hard work!

I’ll probably be back to post more baking adventures or meals with the upcoming holidays. Happy Thanksgiving to everyone!

Leave a Reply

