It’s getting exciting!

Today has been an exciting day so far and it’s only 1:30. Right now I’m living with my boyfriend’s family in California and my parents are in North Carolina. They’re coming out here at the end of the month (!!) and today we officially own our new house in California! Woo hoo! And this morning my mom’s car got delivered here so they can have it here already when they come. Things are definitely coming together for them to be out here. I also realized I leave to visit my family in Texas in 9 days and still have loads of things to do like finish Christmas shopping, gift-making, wrapping, etc. and I have to do all of those things around work and cleaning the new house top to bottom. I’ll hopefully manage to get it all done, but realized today I better get my booty moving on Christmas things. “It’s getting exciting!” as my gramma would say, she always says that around Christmas time.

100_2176 

I finished painting the rest of the ornaments I’m giving to people today, one penguin is for my sister and one is for Chris’ niece.

On to food…

100_2166

This morning I was pretty hungry when I woke up but wanted something a little different than the normal oats I’ve been having, so I made Kath’s Baked Banana Oatmeal I’ve been wanting to try forever. I haven’t ever made it because I was scared I wouldn’t like it since I didn’t like oatmeal before, but now that I’ve been eating (and loving) oatmeal in the mornings, I thought I’d give this a shot.

It did not disappoint! Another great recipe, thanks Kath! The only thing I 100_2169changed was using cinnamon instead of brown sugar, but it was still fabulous. I tried spreading peanut butter on top after taking the pic and it didn’t look too pretty after that. 🙂

For lunch I had a turkey pita with lettuce and alfalfa sprouts. Alfalfa sprouts are new to me, I’ve been wanting to try them for a while and tried them for the first time the other day at Bruegger’s Bagels in my salad and liked them, so I picked some up yesterday and added them to my sandwich, yum! 100_2177

I’ve been trying a lot of new foods lately which I’m proud of myself for. Last night I also tried Medjool dates, which I know why people love them for dessert; it tasted a lot like caramel to me. The other night I also had black beans on my sweet potato which was a first for me and I enjoyed that as well. Yay for new foods!

As far as exercise and the Holiday Marathon Challenge goes, I’m not doing so great on the challenge. I haven’t ran at all this week, but have been working out. I just don’t enjoy running as much as I do other activities or it seems so much harder to go running than go to a spin or step class. I figure as long as I’m exercising that is still good, and I should get more miles when I visit Texas and don’t have a gym so will most likely run everyday. I’m not too worried about it like I said, but I’m definitely the slacker of the challenge. :-X

Lastly, congrats to ZestyCook on his 100th post! Check out his site for a great giveaway!

Peace, Love, & Happiness 😛

One response to “It’s getting exciting!

  1. Baked banana oatmeal looks very tasty. 🙂

Leave a Reply

