Steel-Cut Goodness & V-day

Good Morning!

Ever since Jamba Juice came out with their steel-cut oats I have not been super satisfied with my regular rolled oats that I have absurdly grown to love.  I can’t believe I love any oatmeal at all, but I really love the texture of the steel-cut variety. So a couple weeks ago I bought some of my own steel-cut oats to try. The first time I cooked them, I burned them to the bottom of the pot because I thought it was supposed to take 30 minutes to cook– oops! Then the second time I tried the crock pot method which was awesome the next morning. Tasted just like Jamba; the only problem being that I’m the only one who really eats oatmeal in the house so I had 3 extra servings which were purely disgusting the next morning and could not be salvaged. Lame.

DSCN0105This morning I gave them another shot since I had more time this morning. I stood over them the entire time and cooked them like I do stove-top rolled oats. Except the proportions were different since they’re steel cut. Here’s how I did it and it turned out scrumptious:

*1/4 cup dry steel-cut oats

*1/4 cup skim milk, 1/2 cup water

*Dash of cinnamon

*whole banana added towards the end

*topped with Kashi Go lean Crunch & Cinnamon Raisin PB

 Directions:

1) Add oats, milk, water & cinnamon to pot & turn on medium-high heat

2) Watch & Stir (mine took about 8 minutes)

3) Add banana about a minute or two before done

4) Top with your favorite toppings & Enjoy!

DSCN0107

I really like the crunchiness texture, I don’t know if I will change to eat these every morning just because of the extra time, but they are definitely a nice treat for mornings I’m not in a rush. I have some wheat berries I’ve been dying to try in my oatmeal since everyone in blogland is hooked on them, but I also had a disaster the first time I tried cooking those… don’t ask, I’m apparently the only person who can burn anything, even wheat berries šŸ˜› I imagine though, that they will give a nice texture to the oats similar to the steel-cut but in less time, so I’m going to give those a try very soon.

Now on to my Valentine’s Day recap. By the way, I would love to be a regular blogger, I just really don’t know how people do it. I’m such a snacker I would be photographing ALL day long and I’m not as busy as many of the bloggers, I just don’t know how they fit it in everyday, some people 3 times a day! Anyways, I’m very inconsistent with my posts as you can tell, but maybe some day I will be a regular blogger.

DSCN0102

Valentine’s Day 2009

Chris and I didn’t know what we were doing for Valentine’s Day up until a few days before the day. I took off work and wanted to do something fun and special, but with us both being pretty poor and broke, our options were pretty limited. I offered to cook a romantic dinner since it was cheap and would be fun. I did it the first year we were together and we had a really good time. The first year I made steaks on the grill and ate it just for him. This time, I made pulled BBQ pork sandwiches in the crock-pot. I hadn’t eaten pork or red meat in at least 5 months and ate it just for him this V-day. I admit though, it was pretty delicious. I even bought a sweet BBQ sauce that had high-fructose corn syrup as the first ingredient because he told me he liked sweet sauces and that one looked good– oh I hope he knows I love him šŸ™‚

DSCN0092

For side dishes we had green beans & corn for me, mac & cheese for him. He was a sweetheart and brought me roses even though I told him not to. He said it was Valentine’s Day so I needed roses. He’s so sweet ā¤

We both agreed it was the best Valentine’s Day we’ve ever had and I can’t wait DSCN0090for many more great ones to come. I’m such a cheese-ball and so many people are so anti-valentine’s day, but you don’t have to make it a hallmark holiday if you don’t want to. You can just make it a special day to appreciate the one(s) you love. Hope everyone had a great V-day as well and for those of you who hate it, at least it’s over for the year šŸ˜›

One response to “Steel-Cut Goodness & V-day

  1. Those steal cut oats look great! I usually stick to regular rolled oats in the morning because of time but I’ve made steel cut a few times on the weekend and they are awesome. Top them with peanut butter and banana and you got a great meal!

Leave a Reply

