Who Needs Sleep?

For some reason I could not sleep this morning, but instead of fighting it and trying to go back to sleep I just got up at 7 am which is early for me. Usually I get up around 8 or 9, but I wasn’t worried about it today because I can take a nap anytime I want because…. I’m officially unemployed! And I couldn’t be happier about it. I was working at a stupid clothing store where everyone were complete jackasses and I finally called it quits on Monday and should have done it way earlier. I feel so much less stressed just knowing I don’t have to go back there. I’m just lucky my parents help support me & I’ll be starting school in the beginning of April so I’ll have plenty to keep me busy once that starts.

Since I had extra time this morning I made steel-cut oats again, this time following the directions on the back of the bag but in reduced serving size.

DSCN0120

-1/2 cup water

-1/4 cup skim milk

-1/4 cup steel cut oats

-A crap-load of ground cinnamon (it came out a lot faster than I thought it would)

-1 large banana

-1 TBSP trail mix

-1 spoonful Better ‘n Peanut Butter

1. Bring water, milk & cinnamon to a boil

2. Add oats & half banana & simmer for 10-15 minutes- stir occassionally

3. Add other half of banana towards end & top with toppings

DSCN0113 DSCN0115

These 2 were my favorite additions 🙂 I’ve been seeing a lot of low-fat PB options on blogland and figured I’d give it a try just for kicks and I actually really like the taste of this Better’n Peanut Butter. It says it’s low sodium but it’s still a lot higher than all my other nut butters. I don’t know if I necessarily agree with de-fatting the peanuts to reduce the fat since it’s healthy fat, but if it lets me eat more of the yummy stuff for the time being, I’ll go for it.

The trail mix is a pre-made mix I buy in bulk at my grocery store and my mom is pretty much addicted to the stuff. For Christmas this year since I was pretty broke I bought a whole bunch of those canning jars and made my own personalized trail-mixes for everyone. I bought all the ingredients in bulk and mix-matched according to what I knew people liked/didn’t like. I also named them cheesy names like “Dad’s Delicious Dried Fruit Mix.” It turned out to be a really cheap x-mas gift and a total hit! My gramma, sister, and mom especially loved it and are now refilling their own jars constantly (look what I started!) But I thought it was a pretty cool idea that I came up with and I also tied an ornament around each jar. I think I know what I’ll be doing next year 🙂

Well I’m off to spinning after I finish this delicious bowl of oats. It’s ridiculous how early I have to get to the gym now to get a bike. People start lining up just to sign up 35 minutes before the class starts. It’s pretty insane, but I still think it’s worth it. I thought the whole New Years resolution group was supposed to have given up by now?! Just give up people and give me back my gym!! 🙂

I am looking forward to lunch today- I have a date with my Christopher at Panera which I haven’t been to in months! woo hoo! Happy Thursday & happy unemployment to me

Leave a Reply

