Sweet Potato Raisin Muffins

DSCN0144

I bought some canned sweet potato a while ago to use in my oatmeal, hoping I would like it better than the pumpkin oatmeal that everyone on their blogs raves about. It was better than pumpkin, but still not my favorite. So I had a whole bunch of canned sweet potato and decided to use them to create a muffin recipe. I looked at a few of my favorite muffin/bread recipes as a guide for the recipe, but created it on my own; which I was proud of because that’s a first for me.

These weren’t the most delicious muffins I’ve ever had (I think I’ve decided I just like more traditional forms of sweet potato) but I was proud that they stuck together like muffins and were fairly good. And super healthy of course.

Sweet Potato Raisin Muffins (makes 24 mini muffins)

1 cup rolled oats

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1/2 tsp baking poder

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tbsp sugar/splenda mix

1/8 tsp salt

1 cup canned or cooked sweet potato

1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce

1 egg

1/2 cup skim milk

1 tsp vanilla

2/3 cup raisins

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 F & grease muffin pan

2. In a food processor, process oatmeal until flour-like

3. Combine dry ingredients in large bowl & wet in another. Pour wet into dry and mix.

4. Fold in raisins

5. Spoon dough into muffin pan. Bake for 10-12 minutes.

Like I said, I was proud of myself for how they turned out considering it was my first real recipe I created on my own. I think what throws me off about these is that I don’t like the sweet potato flavor much in other foods I’ve learned. The texture was good and they were very moist & fluffy. I like that they weren’t too sweet so they would be good for a snack or breakfast.

One response to “Sweet Potato Raisin Muffins

  1. Great recipe! The muffins look really good!

Leave a Reply

