Totally worth it

One of my baking experiments today was wheat bread. I combined two different recipes and was going for a lighter bread because the only other time I tried to make wheat bread it weighed about 9 lbs and was really dense. However, this one turned out super flat and still pretty dense. I’m not quite sure what happened, but that’s what I get for messing with recipes.

DSCN0416

I tried a piece and it was actually pretty good. It kind of reminds me of a whole wheat Panera baguette without the seeds. It won’t work as great as I had planned for sandwiches, but I’m sure I’ll still put it to good use. Maybe I’ll try croutons again- I’m determined to get them right!

DSCN0420 

I met my friend at BJ’s who actually brought another friend I knew from high school and we had a good time. It was good to catch up with them. I had a chicken caesar salad which was delicious. We got a pizookie (a pizza cookie) which BJ’s is known for.

DSCN0421

It was half peanut butter cookie half double chocolate chip & the waiter was funny and came back and added the squares of ghiradelli to the top. I think he felt bad that he took a really long time in the beginning to get our food.

After dinner, I stopped by the grocery store (2nd time today) because there were a bunch of good sales I saw earlier, but was on my bike and knew I couldn’t try to get it all.

 DSCN0425

I totally splurged on expensive items I don’t usually buy, but I figured it’s food and what the hell, right?! I rarely clothes shopping so if my big “splurges” are fun food items I figure I deserve it 🙂 (I am such a dork!!)

The loot included:

-Izze- Pomegranate (for Chris & Dad)

-Pre Juices (they boasted about probiotics, also for Chris)

-Almond milk: chocolate & vanilla

-Wheat flour, White flour

-Almond Nut Thin crackers

-Health is Wealth Spinach Munchees

-Odwalla Banana Nut bar

-Chocolate Easter Eggs

-Dried Goji Berries

-Barney Butter: crunchy!!!

I was excited about Barney Butter- I haven’t been buying it because of it’s $9.00 price tag, but it’s worth it!

DSCN0426

When I got home I had to remember what Barney butter tasted like and what better way than on a banana? Also, some more grapes since I’m an addict.

Today probably wasn’t the best day to splurge on groceries considering sales tax went up today- sheesh.

Blogging 3 times a day is pretty crazy, not sure how people do it regularly. I haven’t even read any blogs today yet. I think I did a pretty good job capturing everything besides the salad, random grapes, crackers & goji berries I sampled, & a pack of gum. (Yes, I’m also a gum addict. Gum & Grapes are my vices)

Time to go read some blogs 😀

**I just ate another piece of the bread, man I need to eat less often… lol

Leave a Reply

